People and organization

NRD is composed of Professors and Researchers from Faculties and Departments of the University of Sassari, who provide scientific support to the development of the diverse activities of the Centre.

In addition, dedicated Staff is in charge of the daily activities pertaining to three functional areas:Scientific and Technical staff, Financial Management and Secretariat, Communication and External Relations.


The Director is elected by the General Assembly, he/she chairs the General Assembly and the Executive Board and is a member of the Scientific Board. The Director, inter alia, promotes NRD activities in accordance with the University statute and regulations, keeps relations will all academic bodies and coordinates NRD staff. In agreement with the Scientific and Executive Boards, the Director proposes the annual plan of research and promotes research agreements with University Departments and with other national and international scientific institutions.

Pier Paolo Roggero e-mail: Tel.: +39 079 229226; fax: +39 079 229222; was appointed Director of the NRD in February 2016

General Assembly

The General Assembly is constituted by 39 professors and researchers of Sassari University that joined NRD because of their scientific interest. It elects NRD Director, Executive Board and proposes the members of the Scientific Board to the Academic Senate for approval.

List of the members of the DNI General Assembly in alphabetical order:

Antonio Azara– Dipartimento di Scienze Biomediche – e-mail:

Simonetta Bagella – Dipartimento di Scienze della Natura e del Territorio – e-mail: ;

Mara Balestrieri – Dipartimento di Agraria – e-mail:

Giuseppe Brundu – Dipartimento di Scienze della Natura e del Territorio – e-mail:

Gian Franco Capra– Dipartimento di Architettura, Design e Urbanistica  – e-mail:

Paola Castaldi – Dipartimento di Chimica e Farmacia – e-mai:

Andrea Demontis – Dipartimento di Agraria – e-mail:

Domenico D’Orsogna – Dipartimento di Giurisprudenza – e-mai:

Rossella Filigheddu – Dipartimento di Chimica e Farmacia – e-mai:

Giovanna Maria Antonietta Foddai – Dipartimento di Giurisprudenza – e-mai:

Roberto Furesi – Dipartimento di Scienze della Natura e del Territorio – e-mail:

Filippo Giadrossich – Dipartimento di Agraria – e-mail:

Luciano Gutierrez – Dipartimento di Agraria – e-mail:

Michele Gutierrez – Dipartimento di Medicina Veterinaria – e-mail:

Luigi Ledda – Dipartimento di Agraria – e-mail:

Andrea Lentini – Dipartimento di Agraria – e-mail:

Raffaella Lovreglio – Dipartimento di Agraria – e-mail:

Salvatore Madrau – Dipartimento di Agraria – e-mail:

Sara Melito – Dipartimento di Agraria – e-mail:

Luca Mercenaro – Dipartimento di Agraria – e-mail:

Quirico Migheli – Dipartimento di Agraria – e-mail:

Giuseppe Moniello – Dipartimento di Medicina Veterinaria – e-mail:

Maurizio Mulas – Dipartimento di Scienze della Natura e del Territorio – e-mail:

Giovanni Nieddu – Dipartimento di Agraria – e-mail:

Giacomo Oggiano – Dipartimento di Scienze della Natura e del Territorio – e-mail:

Vincenzo Pascucci – Dipartimento di Scienze della Natura e del Territorio – e-mail:

Antonio Luigi Pazzona – Dipartimento di Agraria – e-mail:

Maria Itria Pilo – Dipartimento di Chimica e Farmacia – e-mai:

Paola Pittaluga – Dipartimento di Architettura, Design e Urbanistica  – e-mail:

Giuseppe Pulina – Dipartimento di Agraria – e-mail:

Pietro Pulina – Dipartimento di Scienze della Natura e del Territorio – e-mail:

Alba Pusino – Dipartimento di Agraria – e-mail:

Pier Paolo Roggero – Dipartimento di Agraria – e-mail:

Gianfranco Sanna – Dipartimento di Architettura, Design e urbanistica  – e-mail:

Antonio Scala – Dipartimento di Medicina Veterinaria – e-mail:

Roberto Scotti – Dipartimento di Agraria – e-mail:

Giovanna Seddaiu – Dipartimento di Agraria – e-mail:

Camillo Tidore – Dipartimento di Storia, Scienze dell’Uomo e della Formazione  – e-mail:

Antonio Varcasia – Dipartimento di Medicina Veterinaria – e-mail:


Scientific Committee

The Scientific Committee supports the general planning of NRD scientific activities and carries out internal audits to check their accomplishment; it also promotes and develops national and international networking.

Giuseppe Scarascia Mugnozza (chairman) e-mail: Tel.:+39 06 69531251/53/58 ; fax:+ 39 06 69531270

Giuseppe Enne   e-mail: Tel.: +39 079 213102;  fax:03 +39 079 22 93 99

Giorgio Ghiglieri e-mail: Tel.:+390706757717; 393209234153 +390706757717

Riccardo Moro email:

Pier Paolo Roggero e-mail: Tel.: +39 079 229226; fax: +39 079 229222

Marcello Scalisi e-mail: Tel.: +39 06 68581430



Executive Board

The Executive Board is responsible for the general administrative planning and management of NRD. 
It is chaired by the Director and made up of four NRD members, two of which are full professors. They oversee the administration of NRD financial resources and the recruitment of external staff, they propose the annual balance for approval by the General Assembly.
The executive board also proposes and/or approves agreements of scientific collaboration with scientific institutions and examines requests for new memberships to be proposed to the general Assembly for final approval.

Pier Paolo Roggero e-mail: Tel.: +39 079 229226; fax: +39 079 229222;

Domenico D'Orsogna e-mail:; Tel.:+39 079 977126

Luciano Gutierrez e-mail:; Tel.: + 39 079 229256 

Quirico Migheli e-mail:; Tel.: + 39 079 229295

Giovanna Seddaiu e-mail: Tel.: + 39 079 229392;  fax:+39 079 229222 

Directorate staff

It assists the Director in his duties; it is composed of an officer from the Financial Management staff, one from the Secretariat staff and one or more representatives from the Scientific and Tecnhnical area, among professors, researchers and expert collaborators.


Secretariat, communication, external relations

The Secretariat, Communication and External Relations Area supports NRD Director in the daily running of the Centre, provides support to projects elaboration and reporting, supports national and international networking and organises training and dissemination activities (conferences, seminars, courses).

Pietro Arras – email:; Tel.+ 39 079 213102; fax: + 39 079 229399 
Anna Paola Dessena  e-mail: Tel:+39 079 229267; fax:+39 079 229399

Technical and scientific staff

The Scientific and technical staff is in charge of the elaboration, coordination and scientific reporting of research and cooperation/development projects.


Moses Hillary Akuno e-mail: Tel.:+ 39 079 213101

Sarah Chahine e-mail: Tel.:+ 39 079 213101

Alberto Carletti e-mail: Tel.: + 39 079 213105 

Laura Chessa e-mail: Tel.:+ 39 079 213106

Ambra Ilaria Cincotti e-mail: Tel.:+ 39 079 213101

Antonio Frongia e-mail: Tel:+ 39 079219384

Matteo Funaro e-mail: Tel:+ 39 079 223107

Roberto Lai e-mail: Tel.: + 39 079 219384 

Laura Mula e-mail: Tel.:+ 39 079 229227  

Alessandra Paulotto e-mail: Tel.:+ 39 079 213101

Antonio Pulina e-mail: Tel.: + 39 079219384

Rizzu Margherita e-mail:



Financial management

The Financial Management staff is responsible for all administrative issues and financial reporting.

Roberta Lobina (Project financial manager) e-mail: Tel:+39 079 213103; fax:+39 079 229399

Anna Paola Dessena (Financial assistant) e-mail: Tel:+39 079 229267; fax:+39 079 229399